Nitishsay features breaking science news about the latest discoveries in science, space, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.

Boeing's Starliner Lands Spacecraft Watch Live Landing

Watch Live Landing: Boeing's Starliner Lands

A live webcast begins at 6:45 a.m. EST (1145 GMT)

Boeing's Starliner Lands spacecraft launched aboard an Atlas V rocket on an Orbital Flight Test at 6:36 a.m. EST, Friday, Dec. 20. The spacecraft had an off-nominal orbit insertion, but was placed in a safe orbit and configuration and will return to land at White Sands, New Mexico.

Boeing's Starliner Lands spacecraft
Boeing's Starliner Lands spacecraft
Boeing's CST-100 Starliner, which failed to reach the International Space Station after its launch on Friday (Dec. 20) will return to Earth Sunday (Dec. 20). Watch it live in the window above, courtesy of NASA TV.
The Starliner spacecraft will land at White Sands Space Harbor in New Mexico at 7:57 a.m. EST (1257 GMT), and NASA's live coverage begins at 6:45 a.m. EST (1145 GMT). The landing will come six days earlier than planned after an anomaly during launch left the uncrewed Starliner, the first of its kind, in the wrong orbit and unable to fly to the International Space Station as planned. 

Boeing Starliner Orbital Flight Test Landing

Video Source: NASA


Full Story: Boeing's Starliner to Land Sunday After Launching Into Wrong Orbit
Boeing is now officially targeting Sunday, Dec. 22, to land its first Starliner spacecraft at White Sands Space Harbor in New Mexico after its launch anomaly on Friday. The uncrewed spacecraft will land at 7:57 a.m. EST (1257 GMT) after firing its thrusters at 7:32 a.m. EST (1232 GMT) to leave orbit.
Starliner launched on its first Orbital Test Flight for NASA atop an Atlas V rocket on Friday morning. But shortly after reaching space, the spacecraft suffered a mission clock error and entered the wrong orbit. It is currently in a 250 km by 250 km orbiter, lower than expected but stable.

Post a comment

0 Comments