Nitishsay features breaking science news about the latest discoveries in science, space, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.

About Eight Planets of Solar System Size, Distance, Mass

About Eight Planets of Solar System

Ever since the discovery of Pluto in 1930, kids grew up learning that the solar system has nine planets. That all changed in the late 1990s, when astronomers started arguing about whether Pluto was indeed a planet. In a highly controversial decision, the International Astronomical Union ultimately decided in 2006 to designate Pluto as a "dwarf planet," reducing the list of the solar system's true planets to just eight. 



Description:Mercury is the smallest and innermost planet in the Solar System. Its orbit around the Sun takes only 87.97 days, the shortest of all the planets in the Solar System. It is named after the Roman deity Mercury, the messenger of the gods. 

Distance from Sun: 57.91 million km
Orbital period: 88 days
Length of day: 58d 15h 30m
Radius: 2,439.7 km
Mass: 3.285 × 10^23 kg (0.055 M⊕)



Description:Venus is the second planet from the Sun. It is named after the Roman goddess of love and beauty. As the second-brightest natural object in the night sky after the Moon, Venus can cast shadows and, rarely, is visible to the naked eye in broad daylight. 

Distance from Sun: 108.2 million km
Length of day: 116d 18h 0m
Orbital period: 225 days
Radius: 6,051.8 km
Equatorial rotation velocity: 6.52 km/h (1.81 m/s)



Description:Earth is the third planet from the Sun and the only astronomical object known to harbor life. According to radiometric dating and other sources of evidence, Earth formed over 4.5 billion years ago.

Distance from Sun: 149.6 million km
Radius: 6,371 km
Mass: 5.972 × 10^24 kg
Age: 4.543 billion years



Description:Mars is the fourth planet from the Sun and the second-smallest planet in the Solar System after Mercury. In English, Mars carries a name of the Roman god of war and is often referred to as the 'Red Planet'.

Gravity: 3.711 m/s²
Distance from Sun: 227.9 million km
Orbital period: 687 days
Surface pressure: 0.636 (0.4–0.87) kPa; 0.00628 atm
Moons: Phobos, Deimos



Description:Jupiter is the fifth planet from the Sun and the largest in the Solar System. It is a gas giant with a mass one-thousandth that of the Sun, but two-and-a-half times that of all the other planets in the Solar System combined. 

Distance from Sun: 778.5 million km
Mass: 1.898 × 10^27 kg (317.8 M⊕)
Radius: 69,911 km
Gravity: 24.79 m/s²
Orbital period: 12 years
Moons: Europa, Ganymede, Io, Callisto, Valetudo, Amalthea, MORE



Description:Saturn is the sixth planet from the Sun and the second-largest in the Solar System, after Jupiter. It is a gas giant with an average radius about nine times that of Earth. It has only one-eighth the average density of Earth; however, with its larger volume, Saturn is over 95 times more massive. 

Distance from Sun: 1.434 billion km
Orbital period: 29 years
Mass: 5.683 × 10^26 kg (95.16 M⊕)
Surface area: 42.7 billion km²
Radius: 58,232 km
Moons: Titan, Enceladus, Mimas, Tethys, Dione, Iapetus, MORE



Description:Uranus is the seventh planet from the Sun. It has the third-largest planetary radius and fourth-largest planetary mass in the Solar System. Uranus is similar in composition to Neptune, and both have bulk chemical compositions which differ from that of the larger gas giants Jupiter and Saturn. 

Distance from Sun: 2.871 billion km
Orbital period: 84 years
Mass: 8.681 × 10^25 kg (14.54 M⊕)
Radius: 25,362 km
Discoverer: William Herschel
Moons: Umbriel, Oberon, Titania, Puck, Desdemona, Cressida, MORE



Description: Neptune is the eighth and farthest known planet from the Sun in the Solar System. In the Solar System, it is the fourth-largest planet by diameter, the third-most-massive planet, and the densest giant planet. Neptune is 17 times the mass of Earth, slightly more massive than its near-twin Uranus. 

Distance from Sun: 4.495 billion km
Orbital period: 165 years
Discovered: 23 September 1846
Mass: 1.024 × 10^26 kg (17.15 M⊕)
Moons: Triton, Thalassa, Naiad, Hippocamp, Proteus, Despina, MORE
Discoverers: Urbain Le Verrier, Johann Gottfried Galle, John Couch Adams

Post a comment